



Patient Safety, Culture and Teamwork in Surgery

Thursday 8 November 2018

Keith Millingen Lecture Theatre, Royal Hobart Hospital, 48 Liverpool Street, Hobart

1.30 pm Welcome and opening

Convener welcome

Dr Michael Ee

Mr Michael Pervan

Secretary, Department of Health

Session 1

Privacy, Protection and Privilege in M&M meetings

Chair: Dr Jodi Glading

Deputy Chief Medical Officer, Department of Health Tasmania

1.45 pm Medical and Legal Debate on the use of Open Access versus Qualified Privilege Status

Moderator: Prof Tony Lawler

Emergency Physician and Chief Medical Officer, Department of Health

Tasmania

Debaters: A/Prof Stuart Walker

Staff Specialist Vascular Surgeon, RHH Chair of the Death Review

Committee

Prof Peter Dargaville

Staff Specialist Neonatologist, Professorial Research Fellow at Menzies

Research Institute

Mr Phil Kimber

LLB, Partner at Butler McIntyre & Butler

Mr Graeme Lynch

LLB (Hons), CEO of the Heart Foundation

Mr Ken Read

SC, Malthouse Chambers

Mr Geoffrey Leigh Sealy

SC, Malthouse Chambers











RACS Tassie Fellows

Chair: Dr Nishanthi Gurusinghe

Part RACS Tasmanian Regional Committee

2.30 pm Audit for Quality Improvement and Patient Safety

Prof Richard Turner

Professor of Surgery, UTAS

2.50 pm Consent - Informed or not?

A/Prof Tony Xabregas

Executive Director of Medical Professions, Tasmania Health Services

3.10 pm Building respect, improving patient safety - let's operate with respect

Dr David Penn

Chair, RACS Tasmanian Regional Committee

Session 3

Invited RACS Guest Speaker

Chair: Dr David Penn

Chair, RACS Tasmanian Regional Committee

3.30 pm Teamwork and Women in Leadership Roles

Dr Annette Holian

RACS Elected Councillor, Orthopaedic Surgeon, RAAF Group Captain

Session 4

Panel Discussion

Chair: Dr Mary Self

Past RACS Tasmanian Regional Committee

4.30 pm Panellists: Dr Jodi Glading A/Prof Tony Xabregas

Prof Tony Lawler Dr David Penn
Prof Richard Turner Dr Annette Holian

Prof Richard Turner Dr Affrictie Hollar

4.55 pm Closing

Dr Michael Ee

Organising subcommittee

Di Cornish and Lisa Lynch supported by RACS CEM





