58th Vic Annual Surgical Meeting 2016


Find a surgeon

The Find a Surgeon directory is a listing of active Fellows of the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons who meet the requirements of the College's Continuing Professional Development (CPD) Program and have opted to be on the list. This list excludes retired or inactive Fellows.


 Vic ASM header

Convenor: Tristan Leech

Industry Supporters

Meeting review




Industry Supporters

The VRC would like to acknowledge and thank the ongoing support of the industry following supporters:

Major Sponsors
Hewison Private Wealth
Medtronic- Covidien
MDA National Insurance
Industry Exhibitors
Cook Medical
Halle Yilmaz Financial Planner
Hoxton MPM


Meeting review

Over 100 participants attended professional development workshops on day one. This was followed by an exemplary dinner at the Melbourne Aquarium with delegates and their families delighted by the close encounters with sharks, manta rays and fish.

Following the formal proceedings, Prof Peter Choong opened the scientific program on Saturday, with over 100 in attendance. The symposia looked at the acquisition of evidence and how to best put it into use. Surgeons and non-surgeons informed the conference on a range of issues touching on themes of sustainability in health, use of registries and translational research. Four judges were impressed with the quality of research presentations over four separate sessions.

The scientific program closed with a debate questioning the role of evidence in best surgical practice. Our team members displayed great knowledge, only surpassed by their good humour and wit. Moderator, Justice Beach judged that Team Affirmative won, by a margin of just 1 point, while acknowledging that a good conspiracy theory has a place in any debate.

Following inspiring presentations from the Foundation for Surgery, and Professor Ian Harris at the Vic ASM dinner, a surprise fireworks display over the Yarra River closed this successful meeting.

The following presenters and judges are all thanked for their time, and for their contribution to what was a dynamic and interesting program.

Key Note Speakers

Prof Peter Choong
Prof Ian Harris


A/Prof Wendy Babidge
A/ProfMarie Bismark
Dr Ruth Bollard
Mr Nigel Broughton
Dr Heather Cleland
A/Prof Sue Evans
Dr John Gillespie
Prof Michael Grigg
Dr Anne Leditschke
Prof Geoff Lindeman
Ms Frances O'Connor
Dr Linda Swan


Moderator:Justice Jonathan Beach
Assoc Prof Rodney Judson
Prof Bruce Mann
Dr Kate Martin
Assoc Prof Vinay S. Rane

Session Chairs

Dr Salena Ward
Mr Su-Wen Loh
Mr Matthew Hadfield
Dr Nicole Yap
Mr Jason Chuen
Ms Susan Shedda
Assoc Prof Rodney Judson


Prof Helen O'Connell
Assoc Prof Rodney Judson
Prof Jonathan Serpell
Assoc Prof Beth Penington

The 2017 Vic ASM will be held on the Victorian surf coast. Date TBA.

Prize Winners

 Congratulations goes to the following

2016 D R Leslie Prize:  Best clinical registrar paper
Dr Katherine Suter

2016 R C Bennett Prize:  Best laboratory based research paper
Dr Marlon Perera

DCAS Scholarship:  Best presentation appropriate to academic surgery
Dr Vachara Niumsawatt

2016 Medical Student Prize: Best presentation by a medical student
Myles Davaris

2016 Best Poster Prize: Poster judged best at the meeting. Supported by Hewison Private Wealth
Dr Matthew Farag

Vic ASM Gallery









ian harris


R C Bennett








Victorian Regional Office

T:  +61 3 9249 1253 
E: college.vic@surgeons.org