Australia and New Zealand Scholarship and Grant Committee


Find a surgeon

The Find a Surgeon directory is a listing of active Fellows of the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons who meet the requirements of the College's Continuing Professional Development (CPD) Program and have opted to be on the list. This list excludes retired or inactive Fellows.


The Australia and New Zealand Scholarship and Grant Committee (ANZSGC) (formerly the Board of Surgical Research) is the RACS body that oversees the Scholarship Program. The Specialist Surgical Training Boards of:

  • Cardiothoracic Surgery
  • General Surgery
  • Neurosurgery
  • Otolaryngology Head and Neck Surgery
  • Paediatric Surgery
  • Urology
  • Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery
  • Vascular Surgery
  • Orthopaedic Surgery

are all represented on the Committee.

The Committee also has representatives from the Council and the Section of Academic Surgery.


These are the objectives of the ANZ Scholarship and Grant Committee:

  • to foster a research milieu within the College
  • to increase the College's research profile amongst Fellows, Trainees and the wider community
  • to be accountable to the College Council for reporting on any research related policy or matters
  • to develop and review policy relating to research
  • to ensure fiscal responsibility in maintenance of scholarship bequests
  • to take an active role in directing research funding.


Chair - Mr Christopher Perry

Deputy Chair - Associate Professor Christopher Young

Committee Members

  • Sam Adie
  • Michael Barnes
  • Wendy Brown
  • Mr Niall Corcoran
  • Dr Romi Das Gupta
  • Michael Findlay
  • Professor Robert Fitridge
  • Miss Sarah Hulme
  • Dr Alkis Psaltis
  • Mr Siven Seevanayagam
  • Professor Marcus Stoodley
  • Professor Andrew Hill
  • Anthony Sparnon


ANZ Scholarship & Grant Committee Secretariat
Royal Australasian College of Surgeons
51-54 Palmer Place, North Adelaide SA 5006 Australia

Telephone: +61 8 8219 0924
Fax: +61 8 8219 0999