Find a surgeon

The Find a Surgeon directory is a listing of active Fellows of the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons who meet the requirements of the College's Continuing Professional Development (CPD) Program and have opted to be on the list. This list excludes retired or inactive Fellows.


Council meets in February, June and October each year. The Executive Committee of Council meets in the months in between. A summary of each meeting is published as Council Highlights. The Councillors' Information Manual can be viewed by College members.

2017 Meetings

Council 2017:

Thursday and Friday
23 and 24 February
29 June and 30 June
26 and 27 October

Executive Committee 2017:

Friday 27 January
Friday 31 March
Friday 28 April
Thursday 25 May
Friday 28 July
Friday 25 August
Thursday 28 September (AFL public holiday in Victoria)
Friday 24 November

Surgical Leaders' Forum 2017:

Thursday 26 October

Annual General Meeting 2017:

Thursday 11 May, Adelaide Convention Centre

Office Bearers

President and Chair of Council and Executive
Mr John Batten

TAS  Fellowship Elected Councillor
Orthopaedic  Surgeon

Vice President
Dr Catherine Ferguson

Responsible for the Relationships and Advocacy portfolio
NZ Fellowship Elected Councillor
Otolaryngologist head and neck Surgeon

Mr Tony Sparnon

Responsible for the Education portfolio
SA Specialty  Elected Councillor
Paediatric  Surgeon

Associate Professor Julie Mundy

Responsible for the Resources portfolio
QLD Specialty Elected Councillor
Cardiothoracic Surgeon

Richard Perry
Chair, Professional Development and Standards Board
Mr Richard Perry

Responsible for the Fellowship portfolio
NZ Fellowship Elected Councillor
General Surgeon

Office Holders

Adrian Anthony
Chair, Board of Surgical Education and Training
Mr Adrian Anthony

SA Fellowship Elected Councillor
General Surgeon

Jonathon Serpell
Chair, Prevocational & Skills Education Committee
Professor Jonathan Serpell

VIC Fellowship Elected Councillor
General Surgeon

Chair, Court of Examiners
Associate Professor Phillip Carson

NT Fellowship Elected Councillor
General Surgeon

Chair, Professional Standards
Dr Lawrence Malisano

QLD Fellowship Elected Councillor 
Orthopaedic Surgeon

Sally Langley
Chair, Professional Development
Dr Sally Langley

NZ Fellowship Elected Councillor
Plastic and reconstructive Surgeon

Ruth Bollard
Chair, Fellowship Services
Ms Ruth Bollard

VIC Fellowship Elected Councillor
General Surgeon

Andrew Hill
Chair, Research and Academic Surgery
Professor Andrew Hill

NZ Fellowship Elected Councillor
General Surgeon

Chair, Surgical Audit
Mr John Crozier AM CSM

NSW Specialty Elected Councillor
Vascular Surgeon

Annette Holian
Chair, External Affairs
Ms Annette Holian

VIC Fellowship Elected Councillor
Orthopaedic  Surgeon

David Fletcher
Chair, Board of Regional Chairs
Professor David Fletcher

WA Specialty Elected Councillor
General Surgeon

Christopher Pyke
Deputy Treasurer
Associate Professor Christopher Pyke

QLD Fellowship  Elected Councillor
General Surgeon

Fellowship Elected Councillors

(in alphabetical order)

Claire Campbell
Dr Claire Campbell

VIC Vascular Surgeon

Jennifer Chambers
Dr Jennifer Chambers

NSW General Surgeon

Kerin Fielding
Associate Professor Kerin Fielding

NSW Orthopaedic Surgeon

Owen Ung
Professor Owen Ung

QLD General Surgeon

Specialty Elected Councillors

(in alphabetical order)

Mark Frydenberg
Professor Mark Frydenberg

VIC Urologist

Bruce Hall
Mr Bruce Hall

QLD Neurosurgeon

Geoff Lyons
Dr Geoffrey Lyons

NSW Plastic and reconstructive Surgeon

Greg Witherow
Dr Greg Witherow

WA Orthopaedic Surgeon

Co-opted Councillors

The Hon Rob Knowles AO

VIC Expert Community Advisor (non FRACS)

Council - Garry Wilson
Mr Garry Wilson KStJ

NZ Expert Community Advisor (non FRACS)

Ruth Mitchell
Dr Ruth Mitchell

VIC RACS Trainees' Association representative

Appointed Councillor

Chris Perry
Mr Christopher Perry

QLD Otolaryngologist head and neck Surgeon

Invited Observers

Andrew Maccormick
Mr Andrew MacCormick

NZ Younger Fellows representative

David A Scott
Professor David A Scott

President, Australian & New Zealand College of Anaesthetists

Principal Advisors to Council

Associate Professor Stephen Tobin - Dean of Education
Dr John Quinn - Executive Director for Surgical Affairs Australia
Mr Richard Lander - Executive Director for Surgical Affairs New Zealand
Professor Guy Maddern - Surgical Director of Research & Evaluation
Mr John Biviano - Acting Chief Executive Officer