Pathways through specialty medical training


Find a surgeon

The Find a Surgeon directory is a listing of active Fellows of the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons who meet the requirements of the College's Continuing Professional Development (CPD) Program and have opted to be on the list. This list excludes retired or inactive Fellows.


Pathways for Australian and New Zealand citizens and permanent residents

The pathway through all specialty medical training in Australia and New Zealand comprises four stages:

Stage 1 - Medical degree

Firstly, complete a medical degree at an Australian or New Zealand university.

Stage 2 - Pre-vocational training

After university, people who intend applying to a medical specialty generally undertake one or more years of clinical work and training. This is often called 'pre-vocational' training.

Stage 3 - Postgraduate vocational training

Specialty medical training - or postgraduate vocational training - is attained under the auspices of a specialist medical college, like the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons (RACS).

Stage 4 - Fellowship and continuing professional development

Successful completion of a specialty medical training program results in fellowship of the specialty and is an endorsement that the fellow may practise independently in that specialty. All medical practitioners must maintain the currency of their skills and knowledge through continuing professional development.


Pathways for international medical graduates

View information about the pathway for International Medical Graduates (IMGs).


More information

For more information read

also read these RACS policies