Surgical Education and Training (SET)


Find a surgeon

The Find a Surgeon directory is a listing of active Fellows of the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons who meet the requirements of the College's Continuing Professional Development (CPD) Program and have opted to be on the list. This list excludes retired or inactive Fellows.


The Royal Australasian College of Surgeons (RACS) has been recognised for over 80 years as the authoritative body for standards and training in surgical practice in Australia and New Zealand. RACS is accredited in Australia and New Zealand to train surgeons as competent, independently practising specialists in each of the nine surgical specialties.

The Surgical Education and Training (SET) program promotes high quality, efficient surgical education and training through early selection into speciality training - surgical trainees are selected directly into the specialty in which they will undertake specialist surgical education and training. Common standards and principles underpin training across all the specialties.

RACS conducts selection, training and assessment to ensure that surgical trainees become competent surgeons who provide safe, comprehensive surgical care of the highest standard to the communities we serve.

Specialty training boards allocate trainees to accredited training posts for their clinical placements. The specialty boards monitor the quality and outcomes of training in each post  through regular hospital accreditation processes and through information from trainees' logbooks.  Hospitals also have supervisors to monitor trainee progress.

What specialties are surgeons trained in?

RACS trains doctors to become surgeons in nine surgical specialties:

Guide to SET

You will find detailed information about SET training in the Guide to SET Booklet  (PDF 658 KB) 

Nine RACS Competencies

The College has developed nine RACS competencies, deemed essential for graduating trainees and surgeons. These nine competencies underpin SET.

Training Standards

You will find a framework for standards of performance in each of the nine RACS competencies in Becoming a competent and proficient surgeon: Training Standards for the Nine RACS Competencies (PDF 172 KB)

Work-based Assessment

Throughout their training, surgical trainees are assessed on a range of work-based assessment tools as defined by their specialty training board.  Further information can be found in the College's work-based assessment resource (PDF) or on the AMC's online work-based assessment resource.


Information on examination dates and requirements.


Royal Australasian College of Surgeons
College of Surgeons' Gardens
250-290 Spring Street
East Melbourne Vic 3002 Australia